Hi! I was looking for some help or advice regarding digital art software. Not sure if I should be posting here or in the Software section - I did see the 'photoshop alternatives' thread but it didn't seem to be quite what I was looking for. But here goes!

I'm a hobby level traditional artist who has been experimenting with digital art. It isn't anything I have had the opportunity to study and I'm just making it up as I go along. I'm currently using GIMP and a Wacom Cintiq 12WX and I'm reasonably happy with some of the results that I'm getting. I have the picture I'm working on in fullscreen mode on the Cintiq and all the other tool/layer/palette/etc windows on my desktop monitor. I have set the thumbstrip and express key things to switch monitors, zoom, undo, redo and whatever else I typically do.

I mostly just use a few different paint tool brushes (the basic round one and a speckled one to create textures sometimes) and alter opacity and size settings a lot. I sometimes use the eraser and ink tools. I use layers and layer opacity settings a lot and sometimes layer effects - mostly blur on background layers to try and create some depth.

I'm not looking for a lot more tools or features that I'm not going to use. I'm happy enough just trying to scribble and paint on my tablet as I would make traditional art but I do miss having a box full of assorted brushes, pen nibs and other tools for making different marks and creating different effects. I'm starting to feel a bit limited in terms of brush options and I'd like to try something else.